Hutchinson and Eastern Florida State advance to national title game

HUTCHINSON, Kan. -- The national title game for NJCAA Division I Men's Basketball is set after two exciting semifinal games Friday evening in Hutchinson.

The hometown Hutchinson Blue Dragons and Raiders of Northwest Florida State entertained a near-capacity crowd in the first contest. Despite 23 points and 13 rebounds from Jeromy Rodriguez, the Raiders fell 88-79. J.J. Rhymes led Hutchinson with 20 points and four assists. 

Eastern Florida State handed South Plains (TX) just its second loss of the season 77-65 to punch their ticket to the title game. Kareem Brewton led the Titans with 26 points and six assists.  

Tomorrow's championship tilt between Hutchinson and Eastern Florida State will tip-off at 8 p.m. Eastern (7 p.m. Central).

A third-place contest between Northwest Florida State and South Plains will precede the championship game at 6 p.m. Eastern (5 p.m. Central).  

Hutchinson got 20 points and four assists from J.J. Rhymes in the Blue Dragons' semifinal win over Northwest Florida State.

Photos courtesy of Hutchinson News

SCORES | SCHEDULE
All scores and box scores can be found by clicking 'SCORES' from the top menu.

STATS
Complete tournament stats and leaders can be viewed by clicking 'STATS' from the top menu.

HIGHLIGHTS
Catch all the top plays from the NJCAA Basketball Championships from NJCAA TV on Twitter - @NJCAATV 

WATCH
Catch all the action from The Tournament on NJCAA TV (www.njcaatv.com), which is now available on Amazon Fire TV and Amazon Fire TV Stick, the Play Store on Android TV, the App Store on Apple TV, and as a Streaming Channel on Roku